Technology literacy requires students to demonstrate new skills and knowledge.

In 2007, CDE rolled out technology literacy standards for students. These standards slightly modify the International Society for Technology in Education’s (ISTE) national education technology standards to include design as an aspect of critical thinking and problem-solving.

ISTE national education technology standards

  1. Creativity and innovation

    Students demonstrate creative thinking, construct knowledge, and develop innovative products and processes using technology.
  2. Communication and collaboration

    Students use digital media and environments to communicate and work collaboratively, including at a distance, to support individual learning and contribute to the learning of others.
  3. Research and information fluency

    Students apply digital tools to gather, evaluate and use information.
  4. Critical thinking, problem-solving and decision-making

    Students use critical-thinking skills to plan and conduct research, manage projects, solve problems and make informed decisions using appropriate digital tools and resources.
  5. Digital citizenship

    Students understand human, cultural and societal issues related to technology, and practice legal and ethical behavior.
  6. Technology operations and concepts

    Students demonstrate a sound understanding of technology concepts, systems and operations.
Definition Why Now?